Our Membership

The ERS covers approximately 15,000 active or deferred employees from the City of Milwaukee or its participating city agencies. 


City of Milwaukee employees are divided into the following four groups:

  • Police Officers (sworn to preserve peace and good order in the City)
  • Firefighters (sworn duties are to extinguish fires and to protect property and life in the City)
  • Elected Officials (elected in a public voting process to represent the residents of the City)
  • General City Employees (those not listed above, who are employed by the City or the following agencies...)

Participating agencies include any division, department, office or agency of the city government, including:

Over 12,500 retirees, survivors, and beneficiaries receive monthly pension payments.

Logos of Agencies Served