

## Employes' Retirement System Of the City of Milwaukee

789 N. Water Street, Suite 300 Milwaukee WI 53202 (414) 286-3557 (800) 815-8418

Visit Our Website: <a href="http://www.cmers.com">http://www.cmers.com</a>
Questions or comments- norm@cmers.com

## June 2021 Retiree Newsletter

# In Memoriam ERS Retirees who have recently died:

Ernest Alamilla-MMSD James Ardis Iii-MPD Ann Bailey-Election Commission Gerald Baker-MPS Steven Balderas-DPW - Sanitation John Blazevic-Engineering James Brennan-City Attorney Colette Cronce-MPS Robert Ewing-MPD John Finnegan-MPD Beverly Freiberg-Port of Milwaukee James Haack-Assessor's Office Arthur Hathaway-Division of Engineers Charles Haug-Health Kenneth Jacobs-DPW - Sewer Patricia Joslyn-Library Stanley Keeler-MFD James Kiss-DPW - Municipal Equipment Yunnie Kwak-DPW - Street & Sewer Hazel Lawrence-Library Dorothy Lewandowski-MPS Mollie Love-MPS Susan Love-Library

Raymond Markowski-City Treasurer Lee Roy Miller-DCD

George Penman-MPS

Lynn Perlberg-MPS

Edna Redmond-MPS

Dirk Sattler-DPW - Water

James Schiedemever-MPD

William Schleif-MFD

Harry Schweitzer-DPW - Sanitation

Edward Shefchik-MPD

Robert Surdyk-MPD

Jaime Torres-DPW - Infrastructure

Darlene Wagner-Health

Errol Young-MPS

## **ERS Office Opening To Public**

Effective June 21, 2021, the ERS Offices will open to the public, including conducting in-person retirement appointments and providing other services. **Please note that masks are required for all visitors at this time.** You can also continue to reach us via phone 414-286-3557 or 800-815-8418, email <a href="mailto:norm@cmers.com">norm@cmers.com</a>, or by using the self-service function on our website <a href="https://www.cmers.com">www.cmers.com</a>.

## **Scam Alert**

Please be aware of scam artists attempting to get information and money from you. Using various tidbits of information, these people may attempt to impersonate the ERS, or other organizations you do business with, with the goal of eventually getting more information or even money from you. If you do not know the caller, or understand the reason for the call, please do not provide any information. The ERS will not call you and ask you for information without first clarifying why the information is needed. If you are uncomfortable sharing information immediately, get the staff member's name, and call the ERS back at 414-286-3557 or 800-815-8418 (ERS's main numbers) and ask to speak with that staff **member** – that way you will know that the person is reachable at the ERS office. Please note that under no circumstance will the ERS ever ask you to pay money in the form of gift cards, pre-paid credit cards, etc.

## Investment Update

As of May 31, the Fund value was \$5.95 Billion, and the YTD return was 9.5%, net of fees.



Have a happy and safe
Independence Day!

### **Dates of Note:**

- ERS will be closed July 5<sup>th</sup> for Independence Day (Observed).
- ➤ July pension payments will be mailed on Thursday, July 29<sup>th</sup> & payable on Friday, July 30<sup>th</sup>.
- Direct deposits will be posted to accounts on Friday, July 30<sup>th</sup>.
- Affidavits for lost June checks will begin to be taken Monday, July 12<sup>th</sup>.

## **Recently Retired ERS Members:**

THOO POORETTREMENT

Barbara Anderson- MPS

Donald Antoniak- MPD

Sharon Awosika- MPS

Michael Blum- DPW - Infrastructure

Oliver Bragg- DPW - Operations

Deborah Bruce- MPS\*

Jeffrey Buckson- MPD\*

Michael Chapko- MPS\*

Linda Conrad- MPD

James Darrow- Housing Authority

Eric Dillman- MPD

Maria Dorival Martial- MPS

Jon Duchateau- MPD

Teri Etten- Health\*

C.B. Eubanks- DPW - Infrastructure

Jennifer Feather- MPD

Virginia Fleming- DPW - Water

Gregory Geniesse- MPD

Brian Gillingham- DPW - OPERATIONS

Anthony Glad- MFD

Sandra Hardy- MPS

Reginald Harvey- Housing Authority

Duane Ingram- MPS

Mary Johnson- MPS\*

Donnie Joiner- DPW - Operations

Katherine Krueger- Health

Rick Macek- Assessor's Office

Balbir Mahay- MPD

John Marks- DCD\*

Albert Marsh- DPW - Operations\*

Thomas Meleski- MFD

Kenneth Moore- MPS

Dorothy Musse- MPS\*

## **Recently Retired ERS Members:**

THO PROPERTY

Paula Newell-Library\*

Charlene Osheim- MPS\*

Michael Palmer- MFD

Robin Rosche-Doro- MPD\*

Rosalind Rouse- DPW - Water

Yvette Rowe- MFD

Kaye Sarwar- MPS

Donna Saulsberry- Housing Authority\*

Paul Schad- MFD

Steven Schaefer- MFD

Robert Schermeister- MMSD

Therese Schrubbe- Assessor's Office

Jeffrey Schwark- MPD

Michelle Siems- MPS

Edmond Smith- DPW - Infrastructure

Ernestine Ware- MPS

Charles Zielke- MFD

#### \*Deferred retirement